This is the updated documentation for Dropbox. Check Common Info for other details.
Syncing Your Account
To Get Started:
- Go to the Integration Center from the bottom left.
- Select Dropbox from the list.
Connecting Your Account(Step 3):
-
Click the "Connect Dropbox" button. The Setup Wizard will walk you through the connection. You'll be able to create:
- Individual Connection, which is best for personal use and provides flexibility and independent management of your integration. All content uploaded will be private to you by default, but you can manually share documents within AlphaSense.
- Shared Connection, which is for Dropbox Team Admins only to ingest data along with mirroring of permissions as on Dropbox into AlphaSense. All content ingested in this connection can be viewed by people who have access to the content on Dropbox and are present in AlphaSense.
When a Dropbox Business team administrator authorises in AS, they can use the Dropbox Business APIs to manage the user lifecycle for a Dropbox Business account and perform API actions on all members of a team. We use these APIs to check the change in permissions on the files after they have been ingested in AS.
3. Currently we don’t support workspace connection in Dropbox.Note: AlphaSense can only ingest content that the authenticating Dropbox account has permission to access. Being a Dropbox Team Admin does not automatically grant visibility into every team folder or individual/personal folder. Team folders and individual folders can be synced only when they are shared with the connecting account.
- Then follow the prompt to enter your Dropbox credentials and link Dropbox with AlphaSense Integration.
Managing AlphaSense Integration
There's no master "Business API on/off" switch a customer admin can toggle. The Business API scopes are defined by AlphaSense app (the developer side) — the customer can't change them.
If your organisation requires a Registered Integrations allowlist, your Dropbox admin must enable third-party app integrations in the Dropbox admin console. Go to — Admin console and “Allow” Connecting unregistered integrations.
Allowing AlphaSense App:
- Follow steps mentioned here https://help.dropbox.com/integrations/app-integrations#Manage-custom-apps
On clicking “Add exceptions”, add AlphaSense App Key: lp3cuwoyr00d1v0
FAQ and Troubleshooting
Q: What is “Files Not in Folder(Shared with Me)” on the first listing page?
- If a file is shared with your user in Dropbox and not the file’s parent, then that files lands in this folder. This folder would not be visible to you on Dropbox. This is created for ease of syncing shared files inside AlphaSense.
Q: How often does Dropbox content sync?
- A: Synced folders automatically refresh every 15 minutes to keep content current. Files inside “Files Not in Folder(Shared with Me)” update every 24 hours.
Q: I still see the files which are under “Files Not in Folder(Shared with Me)” but were un-shared on Dropbox?
- A: Currently during 24 hour sync of “Files Not in Folder(Shared with Me)” we don’t support deletion of already synced files. Only new files get added during the daily sync.
Q: Will newly created Dropbox folders sync automatically?
- A: No. New folders must be manually added in the Dropbox connector configuration before they can sync. If newly added folder/file falls under synced folder then it will be synced automatically.
Q: What permissions are required to sync Dropbox content?
- A: For an Individual Connection, you need Can view or higher access to every Dropbox folder you select. For a Shared Connection, users need Can view or higher access to the Dropbox folder, either directly or through a Dropbox group.
Q: What permissions are required to view Dropbox content in AlphaSense?
- A: For an Individual Connection, synced content is private by default and must be shared manually in AlphaSense.
- For a Shared Connection, users with Can view or higher access to the Dropbox folder can view the content in AlphaSense. In this case, Dropbox permissions cannot be overridden in AlphaSense.
Q: I connected successfully, but my colleague can't see the content. Why?
- A: For an Individual Connection, content is private unless you share it in AlphaSense. For a Shared Connection, your colleague must have Can view or higher access to the content in Dropbox, either directly or through a Dropbox group.
Q: Which file types are supported?
- A: Other than the ones mentioned here Common Info: Which file types are supported?, we support Dropbox native documents called
.Paper. This is the main document which is being used for collaboration.